PR&P: Week 5- Retro Smocks


So this weeks challenge was to up-cycle a mens button down shirt.  I chose to make something for the girls that I had been meaning to make for awhile: Smocks!!


I remember in Elementary school taking in one of my dad’s shirts to use as an art smock…so I decided to make them a gussied up art/gardening/cooking smock from a mans shirt (in this case Dad didn’t have any he wanted to donate to the cause, so I hit up D.I!).  I used the Bias-Tape Apron IMG_6431-001pattern from Oliver +S Book –Little Things to Sew.  I started with the 3-6 years pattern (a medium) in the hopes they would fit all my girls. I utilized the buttons down the front, but switched them to the back of the smock–eliminating the need for me to create lots of button holes!! yea!! When cutting out the back piece of the pattern, I folded over the placket portion until the button markings lined up with the button placket on my shirt–IMG_6473-001cutting out one half, and then turning the pattern over and cutting out the other half –keeping the buttons buttoned and ending up with 1 pattern piece (instead of 2 separate ones like it calls for in the pattern). I made 2 different smocks, and need to make a third for the littlest one. Although she is 3, it is WAY long for her. I’d like to make the pattern the same for her, but just cut off some length.  I used 2 different dress shirts, mixing and Retro Apron-4matching between the 2, a thrifted sheet for the chambray bias tape, and a small square of fabric for the polka-dot bias tape.  The leaves/flowers side panel on the green striped one is also fabric yardage–from IKEA.  I also added an additional pocket to the front using the original pocket from the 2 dress shirts.  Unfortunately the pink pin-stripe shirt did not photograph well, but hopefully in the close-ups you can tell what it is supposed to look Retro Apron 1like. It was A LOT of bias tape to sew on, but I love the results (I almost think they are too cute to use as smocks!!)  I also love that there are no unfinished seams thanks to the bias tape and french seams.   I think a dress fashioned after this bias tape look may be in order…IMG_6422-001

12 thoughts on “PR&P: Week 5- Retro Smocks

Leave a Reply

