Hummus and Pita Bread

This week for the Young Men/Young Women combined activity, we had a cultural night.  The YW were in charge and the original intent was to have returned missionaries come and talk to the youth about their mission’s culture.  I was chatting with the YW President on how many people were signed up to come and talk; the number wasn’t encouraging.  I figured that I didn’t have much to offer in terms of Las Vegas culture, as that is not quite the intended point of the cultural night.  I did offer to share some of my study abroad experiences from Israel and the Near East.  The YW President was willing to accept anyone, even my non-mission experiences – so I headed home with another task on my to-do list.

I conned Marnae into making some homemade hummus, which ended up being a hit (at least with the adults).  I took the easy way out and bought a bag of pita bread to serve the hummus to the youth.  Yesterday, Marnae made some homemade pita bread to complement our leftover hummus and they were delicious.  We made yummy pitas with some deli meat, cheese, lettuce, sprouts, tomatoes, cucumbers and hummus (no falafel and french fries, though–drat :).  The kids seemed to enjoy eating it.  Yesterday they really liked sprouts, but today Ella complained that I put too many on hers.  Can I just say how grateful that I am that our kids are adventurous in their eating?  As a kid, I was not, and in hindsight, I’m glad that my mother had patience with me and left out the onions, etc..

P.S. If you want to make the hummus and the pita bread, I got the recipe here from The Brown Eyed Baker.  The link is to the hummus page, but a link to the pita bread recipe is also on the hummus page.  They were so should really try them.  I made the hummus recipe per the directions with the exception of adding a little additional water/lemon juice at the end because I thought it was too thick.  I also followed the pita recipe fairly closely…DO knead the bread for the recommended time–this is a necessary step.  However, at the end of the kneading (I did it by machine) the dough was a little sticky so I added in a little more flour.  I baked ours two at a time on a baking stone.  They froze really well, and although it only makes 8, we only used 3 whole ones for our dinner. Enjoy!

One thought on “Hummus and Pita Bread

  1. Beans says:

    Well, there’s not one male in our household that would even try these. Are we related to Erick? Glad you’ve got such great little eaters!

Leave a Reply

